Enjoy some primary tour locations from our Gaelic history bus tours of east Belfast in these short informative videos.
Con O’Neill Bridge. Tradition tells us this pedestrian bridge in east Belfast dates from the late sixteenth or early seventeenth century and was built for the Irish lord, Con O’Neill.
Lisnabreeny Rath, high on the Castlereagh Hills overlooking Belfast, may have been witness to the arrival of the Vikings and the advance of John De Courcy towards Carrickfergus on the north shore of Belfast Lough.
Castle Reagh on the hills of Castlereagh, home of the O’Neill’s of Upper Clandeboye and their young chief, Con. Known as The Eagle’s Nest, due to the excellent panorama from its battlements.
Knock Graveyard. When Con O’Neill became Lord of Clandeboye in 1601, the church at Knock Graveyard was in decline. It was superseded in 1737 by a church at Knockbreda, three miles away.
Inauguration Mound. Learn about the Con O’Neill inauguration mound, buried deep in woods on the edge of east Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Burial Site. Video about the Con O’Neill burial site at Ballymaghan, on the eastern outskirts of Belfast, Northern Ireland.
Want to know more about Journey East?
Join one of our bus tours through the streets of east Belfast and into the Castlereagh Hills on a journey into our Gaelic past.
Fascinating for both children and adults, we can also provide talks on local Gaelic history to history and community groups.
Turas is based on the belief that the Irish language belongs to everyone and can be a mechanism for reconciliation.
RELATED WEBSITES AND OUR TERMS